MABOnChain
Educational content only. Nothing on this site is financial advice.
Home / Regulation / Kazakhstan Court Bars Coinbase, BingX and Four Other Exchanges From Unlicensed Crypto Services
Regulation

Kazakhstan Court Bars Coinbase, BingX and Four Other Exchanges From Unlicensed Crypto Services

By MABOnChain Desk · Published · Updated · 4 min read

Editorial digital-art illustration in the CoinTelegraph style: a giant wooden judge's gavel slamming down with splinters bursting, behind it shattered smartphone app tiles showing abstract candlestick charts and a cracked red wax seal emblem, the modern glass skyline of Astana at dusk with the Baiterek tower, flanked by stylized app-store marks on stone pedestals wrapped in glowing golden chains and padlocks, deep navy and dark gold palette with teal accents, cinematic lighting, ultra-detailed painterly 16:9 composition, no text.

Published October 20, 2026, 10:05 PM PKT. Based on the Astana Financial Services Authority's announcement of October 20, 2026 (primary source), with reporting from Cointelegraph, crypto.news, CoinDesk, CoinOTAG, basisdesk.news and cryptured.com (secondary sources).

Kazakhstan's Astana International Financial Centre Court has barred six cryptocurrency platforms, including Coinbase and BingX, from offering digital-asset services without a license in its jurisdiction, the Astana Financial Services Authority (AFSA) disclosed on October 20, 2026. The default injunctions target the operators of BingX, Bitcoin.com, Huobi Global (HTX), BitMart, Coinbase and WEEX, and they extend to Google and Apple as app-store operators, with the regulator preparing to enforce geographic restrictions on the six platforms' mobile applications.

The September 15 injunctions

The court issued its original judgment on September 15, 2026, after AFSA took the operators to court over unlicensed activity, and amended it three days later, according to the authority's announcement. The original order named seven operators, but LBank was removed on September 18 after it independently restricted access to its services in Kazakhstan. The six remaining operators are prohibited from providing, offering or advertising digital-asset services within the AIFC without the required authorization, and from distributing mobile applications intended to provide those services. The judgment was a default ruling because the six platforms did not contest the case, and the operators were ordered jointly to pay approximately 1.995 million Kazakhstani tenge in legal costs. Cointelegraph reported that its requests for comment from BingX, Coinbase and Huobi Global were not immediately answered.

Apple and Google drawn in

The unusual reach of the order is its application to the app stores. Google and Apple are covered as app-store operators, with geographic restrictions on access to the six platforms' applications, and AFSA said it is preparing to send the relevant documents to both companies to enforce the limits. The enforcement lever matters because blocking a website can be reversed in minutes, while removing an application from the App Store and Google Play in a geography cuts the main retail on-ramp, according to reporting on the order. The scope is not a countrywide crypto ban: the AIFC is a distinct jurisdiction, and the court restrictions concern unauthorized services within the AIFC and access through the relevant app stores. The National Bank of Kazakhstan oversees digital-asset service providers operating outside the AIFC.

Two years of warnings

AFSA said the case followed a lengthy enforcement process. The regulator sent written warnings to more than 20 platforms dating back to 2025 to explain the AIFC's licensing requirements and the restrictions on advertising and serving customers without authorization, then took the matter to the AIFC Court in early 2026 when some platforms continued operating without permission. During the process, nine platforms voluntarily restricted access to their applications in Kazakhstan through Google Play and Apple's App Store, prompting AFSA to withdraw its claims against those operators, while seven other platforms told the regulator they intended to seek licenses to operate digital asset trading facilities, the authority said. "This court decision is the result of extensive and consistent efforts by AFSA's Supervision and Enforcement teams to address the activities of unlicensed crypto platforms that were advertising without authorization and offering digital asset-related services in Kazakhstan without the required permission," said AFSA chief executive Evgeniya Bogdanova.

The risk to users

AFSA warned that users of unlicensed platforms do not receive the safeguards required of licensed firms, including protections for asset custody, information disclosure, complaints handling and dispute resolution. In its judgment, the court addressed the compliance obligations that licensed businesses must meet, including customer identification, anti-money laundering controls, counterterrorist financing measures and ongoing regulatory supervision. The court found that unauthorized operations undermine the AIFC regime and generate unfair competition, because licensed firms bear the costs of those compliance controls while unlicensed operators can avoid them. Users can check whether a cryptocurrency business is authorized under the AIFC framework through AFSA's public register of licensed companies and the digital asset services they are permitted to provide.

Part of a wider crackdown

The court action fits a broader campaign by Kazakh authorities against unlicensed crypto businesses. In January 2026, national authorities were reported to have blocked access to more than 1,100 unlicensed cryptocurrency exchange platforms over the preceding year, and the Financial Monitoring Agency had previously blocked almost 1,000 crypto exchanges in 2023 for serving citizens without proper registration. In April 2026, AFSA named HTX, OKX, Bitget and MEXC in a warning reminding operators of the need for regulatory approval before offering digital asset services in the country. AFSA has worked with the National Bank of Kazakhstan since May 2026 to address unauthorized activity in the digital asset industry. The authority has not disclosed whether the six platforms have ceased all operations across Kazakhstan, and it has not confirmed that Google and Apple have implemented the geographic restrictions.

This article is news reporting and is not investment advice.

Sources

  • Astana Financial Services Authority (AFSA), announcement of October 20, 2026 (via afsa.aifc.kz), primary source: default injunction issued by the AIFC Court on September 15, 2026, amended September 18, against the operators of BingX, Bitcoin.com, Huobi Global (HTX), BitMart, Coinbase and WEEX over unlicensed digital-asset services; LBank removed after blocking Kazakh users; geographic restrictions to be enforced on the six apps via Google and Apple; approximately 1.995 million tenge in costs; written warnings to more than 20 platforms since 2025; nine platforms voluntarily restricted apps; seven intend to seek licenses; quote from CEO Evgeniya Bogdanova
  • Cointelegraph, October 20, 2026, secondary source: order covers six platforms and extends to app stores; comment requests to BingX, Coinbase and Huobi Global unanswered; 2023 Financial Monitoring Agency action blocking almost 1,000 exchanges
  • crypto.news, October 20, 2026, secondary source: AFSA preparing to send documents to Google and Apple; warning-process timeline; April 29, 2026 warning naming HTX, OKX, Bitget and MEXC; 1,100-plus platforms blocked in the year to January 2026
  • CoinDesk, October 20, 2026, secondary source: ruling underscores commitment to regulating crypto within the AIFC special economic zone
  • CoinOTAG, October 20, 2026, secondary source: injunctions concern unauthorized services within the AIFC, not a blanket national crypto ban
  • basisdesk.news, October 20, 2026, secondary source: app-store directives and cross-agency oversight with the National Bank of Kazakhstan
  • cryptured.com, October 20, 2026, secondary source: September 15/18 judgment dates; implementation of app-store restrictions not confirmed; AFSA public register of licensed firms
Not financial advice. This content is for information and education only. See our disclaimer, editorial policy and disclosures.

MABOnChain Daily Brief

The key crypto and markets stories in one short, plain-language email. Free. Unsubscribe any time.

Loading the signup form…

Prefer chat? Join us on Telegram Watch on YouTube

Keep reading

Markets

Visa Partners With Mesh to Make Crypto Balances Spendable at 175 Million Merchants

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Mesh and Visa announced a strategic partnership on October 19, 2026 that will let consumers spend crypto and stablecoin balances directly from participating wallet apps across Visa's acceptance network of more than 175 million merchant locations in over 200 countries and territories. A Visa credential is provisioned behind the scenes for in-store and online payments, with Mesh orchestrating the funding, conversion and user onboarding. Specific wallet partners, device support and rollout timing have not been announced.

Regulation

Microsoft, Alphabet and Goldman Sachs Object to Tokenized Shares on OKX-ICE Venue, Taking Total to 16

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Microsoft, Alphabet and Goldman Sachs have joined the issuers objecting to tokenized versions of their shares trading on OKXICE, the OKX and Intercontinental Exchange joint venture, in its updated public notice dated October 19, 2026. Qualcomm, Caterpillar, McDonald's and Western Digital also joined the list, bringing the disclosed objectors to 16 companies, up from nine a week earlier, and removing 17 of the 63 planned symbols from the venue.

Regulation

Japan Moves to Cut Crypto Tax to a Flat 20%, Ending the 55% Top Rate

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Nikkei reported on October 20, 2026 that Japan's government-backed 2026 tax reform draft would cut cryptocurrency gains to a flat 20% tax rate, down from the current top rate of 55%, putting crypto under the same separate-taxation regime as stocks and mutual funds. The draft also introduces a three-year loss carry-forward for crypto investors, effective from 2026.

Scam Alerts

Drift Exploiter Moves $61.6M in ETH to Tornado Cash After Two Months Dormant

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Wallets linked to the $285 million Drift Protocol exploit resumed moving stolen cryptocurrency on October 20, 2026, with onchain trackers reporting that about $61.6 million in Ethereum was deposited into Tornado Cash, ending roughly two months of inactivity. Lookonchain reported the suspected exploiter moved 25,700 ETH, worth approximately $61.56 million, into the privacy mixer over a two-hour window while still controlling about 81,864 ETH, worth roughly $195 million.

Markets

Bitget to Acquire Licensed Thai Exchange Weeks After $388M Hack

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Bitget announced on October 20, 2026 that it will acquire GMO-Z.com Cryptonomics (Thailand), a Bangkok-based licensed digital asset exchange and brokerage, through BTGT Management (Thailand) Ltd., in which it holds an interest. Financial terms and Bitget's ownership percentage in the acquiring vehicle were not disclosed. The acquisition gives Bitget a licensed route into Thailand less than a month after a September 24 attack drained about $388 million from its hot and warm wallets.

Regulation

FINMA Approves Switzerland's First Retail Bitcoin ETF

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Switzerland's Financial Market Supervisory Authority approved the country's first retail Bitcoin fund on October 20, 2026, a Swiss-domiciled "other fund for alternative investments" that gives everyday investors regulated Bitcoin exposure. FINMA granted an exemption from risk-diversification rules for the single-asset fund, citing Bitcoin's long trading history and exceptionally high trading volumes, and requires strict custody safeguards and clear risk warnings at the point of sale.

Markets

Revolut Outage Knocks Out App, Card Payments and Crypto Access Across Europe

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Revolut suffered a widespread service outage on Tuesday, October 20, 2026, locking users across the UK, Ireland, France, Spain, Malta and Romania out of its app, money transfers, card payments and crypto holdings. Complaints spiked between 7 and 8 am BST; the company acknowledged the disruption on X, said engineers were working to restore full service, and confirmed customers' money and data were safe.

Markets

JPMorgan Projects Bitcoin Will Outperform Stocks and Gold Over the Next Decade

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

J.P. Morgan Asset Management included Bitcoin in its 2027 Long-Term Capital Market Assumptions for the first time in the report's 31-year history, projecting a 10% compound annual return over 10 to 15 years, ahead of U.S. large-cap stocks at 7.5% and gold at 5.5%. The bank's model range spans a 9.7% annual loss in the bear case to a 17% annual gain in the bull case, with 55% annualized volatility.

Bitcoin

BlackRock Files for iShares Bitcoin Managed Protection ETF, Capped Upside on IBIT With Downside Buffer

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

BlackRock's iShares Trust filed with the SEC on October 19, 2026 for the iShares Bitcoin Managed Protection ETF, ticker PBIT, seeking upside exposure to the iShares Bitcoin Trust (IBIT) up to an approximate cap while offering downside protection. The strategy buys bitcoin options in three tranches, sells options to offset the purchase cost, and invests in fixed-income products whose interest income hedges the option costs.

Regulation

Tether CEO Ardoino Fires Back at Blumenthal Senate Probe, Claims Iran USDT Volumes Down 94%

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Tether CEO Paolo Ardoino responded on October 19, 2026 to Senator Richard Blumenthal's Senate Iran sanctions probe, claiming on X that since 2023 Tether froze flagged addresses on average four weeks before OFAC and Israel's NBCTF officially designated them, and that its enforcement work drove a 94% decline in Iran-linked stablecoin volumes. The figures are company assertions with no independently verified dataset.

Markets

World Liberty's USD1 Stablecoin Sheds $400 Million in Two Weeks as Redemptions Mount

October 19, 2026 · 5 min read

World Liberty Financial's USD1 stablecoin has shed more than $400 million of its market capitalization in two weeks, falling about 9.1% from $4.43 billion on October 6 to roughly $4.02 billion on October 19, driven by concentrated redemptions on Ethereum and BNB Chain, including nearly $200 million from a single unidentified address on BNB Chain.