Our founder Crypto Man MAB is nominated for Blockchain 100 Best Live Streamer. Vote daily until Oct 28
MABOnChain
Educational content only. Nothing on this site is financial advice.
Home / Regulation / Microsoft, Alphabet and Goldman Sachs Object to Tokenized Shares on OKX-ICE Venue, Taking Total to 16
Regulation

Microsoft, Alphabet and Goldman Sachs Object to Tokenized Shares on OKX-ICE Venue, Taking Total to 16

By MABOnChain Desk · Published · Updated · 4 min read

Editorial digital-art illustration in the CoinTelegraph style: a towering corporate skyline of glass skyscrapers with glowing stock-ticker facades rising through dusk haze, a huge glowing gold-and-crimson corporate veto seal motif stamped in the foreground, physical stock certificates dissolving into blockchain pixels and golden chain links, a dim crypto trading venue desk with dark order-book screens in the background, small tokenized share tokens scattering away, deep navy to crimson palette with gold accents, dramatic cinematic lighting, ultra-detailed painterly 16:9 composition, no text.

Published October 20, 2026, 08:45 PM PKT. Based on OKXICE's updated public notice dated October 19, 2026 (primary source, as reported by CoinDesk and Ledger Insights) and the Securities and Exchange Commission's September 17, 2026 Innovation Exemption framework (primary source), with analysis from Basis Desk, Ledger Insights and TD Securities (secondary sources).

Microsoft, Alphabet and Goldman Sachs have joined the corporate revolt against tokenized stock trading on OKXICE, the joint venture between crypto exchange OKX and Intercontinental Exchange, the parent company of the New York Stock Exchange. The three heavyweights appear among seven new objecting issuers in OKXICE's updated public notice dated October 19, bringing the disclosed tally of companies refusing tokenized versions of their shares on the venue to 16, up from nine a week earlier.

The seven new blue-chip objectors

Alongside Microsoft (MSFT), Alphabet (GOOG, GOOGL) and Goldman Sachs (GS), the updated notice names Qualcomm (QCOM), Caterpillar (CAT), McDonald's (MCD) and Western Digital (WDC) as new objectors, CoinDesk reported. Under the SEC's framework, a timely objection bars the venue from offering tokenized versions of that company's stock, so each opt-out directly shrinks OKXICE's potential opening lineup. The first wave, disclosed in the October 15 notice, was dominated by AI infrastructure and semiconductor names: Broadcom, Verizon, UnitedHealth, CoreWeave, AppLovin, Applied Digital, Rocket Lab and Applied Optoelectronics, plus AI chipmaker Cerebras Systems, which had objected even before appearing on the roster. The second wave is pure blue chip, a signal Ledger Insights said reflects a broader corporate reassessment of onchain equity trading.

17 of 63 planned symbols off the table

OKXICE's original October 5 notice targeted 63 tickers representing 62 companies, with Alphabet counted twice through its two share classes. With 15 of those companies now on record objecting, alongside Cerebras Systems from outside the roster, 47 target companies have not disclosed an objection, CoinDesk reported. Ledger Insights calculated that the objections remove 17 of the original 63 symbols from the venue before it launches, because Alphabet's two listings count separately. The numbers keep moving: the roster grew with each revision of the notice, from a single objection when OKXICE filed its plans on October 4 to nine by October 15 and now 16, with each version capturing the objections filed since the last one.

The SEC's Innovation Exemption and the issuer veto

The venue exists because of the SEC's five-year "Innovation Exemption," announced on September 17, which lets qualifying platforms trade tokenized U.S. stocks through automated market makers and liquidity pools without registering as national securities exchanges. The exemption's built-in constraint is the issuer veto: a venue must notify companies in writing and give them an explicit chance to object before listing third-party tokenized versions of their equities. OKXICE, co-chaired by former New York governor Andrew Cuomo, plans round-the-clock trading through Uniswap v4 liquidity pools on OKX's XLayer blockchain, settled in stablecoins such as USDC and USDT, with a registered broker-dealer holding the underlying shares one-for-one and token holders receiving equivalent dividend and voting rights, according to Basis Desk.

Why issuers are saying no

The notice itself does not explain the companies' reasons, so the explanations come from market participants. Nasdaq, which is not in OKXICE's notices but said separately on its own website that it will opt its own shares out of the SEC's temporary framework, told the Wall Street Journal it opposes trading its stock on venues that do not display best execution prices in real time or report trades to the consolidated tape. Robin Nordnes, chief executive of trading validation firm Raiku, told Basis Desk that block builders on public chains control order sequencing, which makes best execution on public chains an unquantified promise until institutional desks can measure their execution against it. Misha Putiatin, co-founder of collateral platform Symbiotic, said issuers need empirical track records of efficient price discovery, pointing to initiatives like the Depository Trust and Clearing Corporation's tokenization trials as a possible source. Luke Nolan, senior research associate at CoinShares, framed the objections as control over distribution rather than a rejection of tokenization, noting issuers want to prevent traders from exploiting niche market mechanics to trigger squeezes or volatile swings in underlying equities. A TD Securities report led by Reid Noch, vice president of U.S. equity market structure, found that conversations across dozens of issuers showed minimal interest in tokenizing corporate stock outside a narrow segment of crypto-native firms, and said multiple executive teams expressed alarm after learning about the SEC's framework, having been unaware of it when it was released.

Who is still on the list

The holdouts are notable for who they are. Ledger Insights reported that crypto-native firms expected on the venue, including Coinbase, Robinhood, Circle and Securitize, have not objected, and traditional giants such as JPMorgan, Walmart, Costco and Eli Lilly have not yet appeared in the notices either, though Ledger Insights cautioned that may reflect processing time rather than consent. OKXICE has not set a launch date, and each updated notice adds whatever objections arrived since the previous version, so the lineup will keep shrinking if more issuers file. For tokenized-equity advocates, the sequence is becoming the story: the SEC built an exemption to get stocks onchain, and the issuers whose stocks make the product worth listing are using the veto the exemption hands them, one by one.

This article is news reporting and is not investment advice.

Sources

  • OKXICE, updated public notice dated October 19, 2026, primary source: seven new objecting issuers (Microsoft, Alphabet, Goldman Sachs, Qualcomm, Caterpillar, McDonald's, Western Digital), bringing the disclosed total to 16; original roster of 63 tickers across 62 companies; no reasons given and no launch date set (content as reported by CoinDesk and Ledger Insights)
  • U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, Innovation Exemption announced September 17, 2026, primary source: five-year exemption for venues trading tokenized U.S. stocks via automated market makers and liquidity pools; written notice to issuers and an explicit opportunity to object required (as described by CoinDesk and Basis Desk)
  • CoinDesk, October 19, 2026, secondary source: Microsoft, Alphabet and Goldman Sachs join the objections; 16 companies total, up from nine in the October 15 notice; 47 of the original 62 target companies have not disclosed an objection; Cerebras Systems objected from outside the original roster
  • Ledger Insights, October 19, 2026, secondary source: objections remove 17 of the original 63 symbols; new objections filed between October 15 and 19; Coinbase, Robinhood, Circle and Securitize notably silent; JPMorgan, Walmart, Costco and Eli Lilly not yet objected
  • Basis Desk, October 20, 2026, secondary source: analysis of the objections with quotes from Raiku CEO Robin Nordnes on block builders and order sequencing, Symbiotic co-founder Misha Putiatin on price-discovery track records, CoinShares' Luke Nolan on issuer distribution control, and the TD Securities report led by Reid Noch on issuer reluctance and executive-team alarm
  • Wall Street Journal, via zot.news, October 2026, secondary source: Nasdaq's decision to opt its own shares out of the SEC's temporary framework, citing the lack of real-time best prices and consolidated tape reporting; Nasdaq applied for its own tokenized securities pilot earlier in 2026
Not financial advice. This content is for information and education only. See our disclaimer, editorial policy and disclosures.

MABOnChain Daily Brief

The key crypto and markets stories in one short, plain-language email. Free. Unsubscribe any time.

Loading the signup form…

Prefer chat? Join us on Telegram Watch on YouTube

Keep reading

Regulation

Japan Moves to Cut Crypto Tax to a Flat 20%, Ending the 55% Top Rate

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Nikkei reported on October 20, 2026 that Japan's government-backed 2026 tax reform draft would cut cryptocurrency gains to a flat 20% tax rate, down from the current top rate of 55%, putting crypto under the same separate-taxation regime as stocks and mutual funds. The draft also introduces a three-year loss carry-forward for crypto investors, effective from 2026. The lower rate would apply only to the roughly 105 cryptoassets traded by businesses registered under the Financial Instruments and Exchange Act, with Bitcoin and Ethereum expected to qualify, and still requires Diet passage.

Scam Alerts

Drift Exploiter Moves $61.6M in ETH to Tornado Cash After Two Months Dormant

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Wallets linked to the $285 million Drift Protocol exploit resumed moving stolen cryptocurrency on October 20, 2026, with onchain trackers reporting that about $61.6 million in Ethereum was deposited into Tornado Cash, ending roughly two months of inactivity. Lookonchain reported the suspected exploiter moved 25,700 ETH, worth approximately $61.56 million, into the privacy mixer over a two-hour window while still controlling about 81,864 ETH, worth roughly $195 million.

Markets

Bitget to Acquire Licensed Thai Exchange Weeks After $388M Hack

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Bitget announced on October 20, 2026 that it will acquire GMO-Z.com Cryptonomics (Thailand), a Bangkok-based licensed digital asset exchange and brokerage, through BTGT Management (Thailand) Ltd., in which it holds an interest. GMO Internet and GMO-Z.com Holdings (Thailand) will transfer their entire shareholding to the buyer, with the deal targeted to close on October 31 pending regulatory approval of the change of control. Financial terms and Bitget's ownership percentage in the acquiring vehicle were not disclosed. The acquisition gives Bitget a licensed route into Thailand less than a month after a September 24 attack drained about $388 million from its hot and warm wallets.

Regulation

FINMA Approves Switzerland's First Retail Bitcoin ETF

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Switzerland's Financial Market Supervisory Authority approved the country's first retail Bitcoin fund on October 20, 2026, a Swiss-domiciled "other fund for alternative investments" that gives everyday investors regulated Bitcoin exposure. FINMA granted an exemption from risk-diversification rules for the single-asset fund, citing Bitcoin's long trading history and exceptionally high trading volumes, and requires strict custody safeguards and clear risk warnings at the point of sale.

Markets

Revolut Outage Knocks Out App, Card Payments and Crypto Access Across Europe

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Revolut suffered a widespread service outage on Tuesday, October 20, 2026, locking users across the UK, Ireland, France, Spain, Malta and Romania out of its app, money transfers, card payments and crypto holdings. Complaints spiked between 7 and 8 am BST; the company acknowledged the disruption on X, said engineers were working to restore full service, and confirmed customers' money and data were safe. By 9:15 GMT its status page showed 30 partially unavailable services, with no cause disclosed and no restoration timeline.

Markets

JPMorgan Projects Bitcoin Will Outperform Stocks and Gold Over the Next Decade

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

J.P. Morgan Asset Management included Bitcoin in its 2027 Long-Term Capital Market Assumptions for the first time in the report's 31-year history, projecting a 10% compound annual return over 10 to 15 years, ahead of U.S. large-cap stocks at 7.5% and gold at 5.5%. The bank's model range spans a 9.7% annual loss in the bear case to a 17% annual gain in the bull case, with 55% annualized volatility, while bitcoin stays out of the report's sample portfolio allocations.

Regulation

Hyperliquid Policy Center Files Five Changes to SEC's Crypto Rules as Comment Deadline Hits Today

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

The Hyperliquid Policy Center submitted a comment letter to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission on October 19, 2026, one day before the public comment deadline, urging five changes to the proposed Regulation Crypto Assets framework: clearer rules for airdrops without payment, secondary market trading, safe harbors, token buybacks and federal preemption. The SEC proposed the framework on August 18, 2026, with a startup exemption of up to $5 million over four years and a fundraising exemption of up to $75 million per 12 months, and drew about 140 comments over a 60-day period.

Bitcoin

BlackRock Files for iShares Bitcoin Managed Protection ETF, Capped Upside on IBIT With Downside Buffer

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

BlackRock's iShares Trust filed with the SEC on October 19, 2026 for the iShares Bitcoin Managed Protection ETF, ticker PBIT, seeking upside exposure to the iShares Bitcoin Trust (IBIT) up to an approximate cap while offering downside protection. The strategy buys bitcoin options in three tranches, sells options to offset the purchase cost, and invests in fixed-income products whose interest income hedges the option costs. IBIT holds more than $65 billion in assets, making it the largest bitcoin ETF. Bloomberg analyst James Seyffart noted it is BlackRock's third bitcoin ETF filing and that the firm still offers only bitcoin and Ethereum products.

Regulation

Tether CEO Ardoino Fires Back at Blumenthal Senate Probe, Claims Iran USDT Volumes Down 94%

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

Tether CEO Paolo Ardoino responded on October 19, 2026 to Senator Richard Blumenthal's Senate Iran sanctions probe, claiming on X that since 2023 Tether froze flagged addresses on average four weeks before OFAC and Israel's NBCTF officially designated them, that it acted before Chainalysis labeled the addresses 99% of the time, and that its enforcement work drove a 94% decline in Iran-linked stablecoin volumes. The figures are company assertions with no independently verified dataset. The September 28 report from Democratic staff of the Senate Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations had accused USDT of being a significant financial lifeline for Iran's shadow banking network.

Markets

World Liberty's USD1 Stablecoin Sheds $400 Million in Two Weeks as Redemptions Mount

October 20, 2026 · 4 min read

World Liberty Financial's USD1 stablecoin has shed more than $400 million of its market capitalization in two weeks, falling about 9.1% from $4.43 billion on October 6 to roughly $4.02 billion on October 19, driven by concentrated redemptions on Ethereum and BNB Chain, including nearly $200 million from a single unidentified address on BNB Chain. The dollar peg held between $0.998 and $1.000, proof-of-reserves data showed about $4.01 billion in backing assets, and the 11.45% supply drop outpaced rival dollar-pegged stablecoins ahead of a planned issuer transition.

Markets

Coinbase and Thunes Partner to Bring Stablecoin Payouts to 140 Countries' Local Banks and Wallets

October 19, 2026 · 5 min read

Coinbase and Thunes announced a strategic partnership on October 19, 2026, at Money20/20 USA in Las Vegas: Coinbase will power Thunes' stablecoin infrastructure while Thunes' Direct Global Network plugs Coinbase payouts into local clearing systems, mobile wallets and bank accounts across more than 140 countries for supplier payments, gig-worker payouts and remittances. No financial terms, timeline, supported stablecoins or consumer availability were disclosed.

Markets

LayerZero (ZRO) Rallies 8% Ahead of $45 Million Token Unlock

October 19, 2026 · 5 min read

LayerZero's ZRO token climbed about 8% to $1.909 on October 19, 2026, one day before a scheduled token unlock that DeFiLlama's token unlock tracker valued at about $44.77 million. The rally, which put ZRO on CoinGecko's daily trending list, defies the usual pattern of unlocks weighing on prices; the token remains well below its $7.47 record while fighting a $292 million lawsuit from KelpDAO.